Howto Calculate Mem Setting's Quake (TUTORIAL)

5 replies [Last post]
D
Dementor's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts:

Ok so you have a x bunch of RAM in your pc , but how do i optimize this for Quake ?

Ok here we go

variabele x = Limit of your MB RAM
variabele a = com_hunkmegs
variabele c = com_zonemegs && com_soundmegs && free RAM for windows etc

This is how it goes:

x / 4 * 3 = a
x - a = b
b/3 = c

So for 256MB RAM this should be:
seta com_hunkMegs "192" //256/4 = 64, 64*3 = 192
seta com_soundMegs "21" //256 - 192 = 64, 64 / 3 = 21,33...
seta com_zoneMegs "21" //Same Value as com_zonemegs
//SOM: 192+21,33+21,33+21,33= 255,99.

Winking

mow Q [EN]
Offline
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts:
Howto Calculate Mem Setting's Quake (TUTORIAL)

Maybe interesting for people with low ram, but not very interesting for your second example. Quake never needs so much ram.

madbringer
Madbringer's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts:
Howto Calculate Mem Setting's Quake (TUTORIAL)

Doesn't Q3 have an internal cap on how much ram it uses, anyway (thought i've read it somewhere)?

Still, interesting, thanks for the tutorial.

D
Dementor's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts:
Howto Calculate Mem Setting's Quake (TUTORIAL)
mow Q [EN] wrote:

Maybe interesting for people with low ram, but not very interesting for your second example. Quake never needs so much ram.

Yes indeed i just thought that out , it's indeed capped @ a Sertain point

512 MB if iam correct

Post Edited

.
Offline
Joined: May 2005
Posts:
Howto Calculate Mem Setting's Quake (TUTORIAL)

From my experience there is no need for more then 128 no matter how much u got.And zonemegs are cheat protected IIRC:

MAHEB
maneff's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts:
re

Yep! maybe .. but try to change your skin... try to look at (explore) all the skins you have, and you'd se that after ~10 skins clicked or maybe more (if didn't play yet) .. you should get a SEXY MESSAGE Big grin